Navigation Menu

Forestry and Wood


Asset Publisher

Legislative Decree 386/2003, Technical Commission for Forest Reproductive Materials


What's this

The Legislative Decree n. 386 of 10 November 2003 "Implementation of Directive 1999/105/EC relating to the marketing of Forest Reproductive Materials", at Art. 14 defines functions and composition of the Technical Commission for Forest Reproductive Materials:  

1. Within six months from the date of entry into force of this decree, by decree of the Ministry of Agricultural and Forestry Policies, to be adopted in consultation with the Minister of Economy and Finance, it is established at the Ministry a Technical Commission which replaces the technical - advisory commission referred to in article 16 of law no. 269/1973.  

2. The Technical Commission referred to in paragraph 1, ensures technical-scientific support and performs general guidance and liaison functions between the competent institutional subjects in the sector of forest reproductive materials, in particular with regard to official bodies, also ensuring the performance of the tasks provided for in this decree. Within three months from the date of its establishment, the technical commission defines, in particular:  

  • the loading and unloading register models referred to in article 5, paragraph 2;  

  • the methods for collecting data on the consistency of nursery material, referred to in Article 5, paragraph 4;  

  • the codes of the regions of origin, referred to in article 8, paragraph 12;  

  • the criteria for the identification and cartographic representation of the regions of origin, referred to in Article 10, paragraph 4;  

  • the criteria, which the multiplication materials imported to guarantee the qualitative equivalence with respect to the materials produced in the European Community, referred to in Article 13, paragraph 3, must meet; 

  • the minimum weight of the seed samples to be taken for the customs checks referred to in Article 13, paragraph 8;

  • the model for the checks referred to in Article 15, paragraph 1; 

3. The documents referred to in paragraph 2 are adopted, with one or more decrees, by the Minister of Agricultural and Forestry Policies.  

4. The commission referred to in paragraph 1 is made up of nine members, divided as follows: a) a representative of the university science expert in forestry nursery, appointed by agreement between the Ministry and the Permanent Conference for relations between the State, the regions and the autonomous provinces of Trento and Bolzano; b) three representatives of the regions and autonomous provinces, experts in the sector, appointed by the President of the Permanent Conference for relations between the State, the regions and the autonomous provinces of Trento and Bolzano; c) two representatives of the Ministry of Agricultural and Forestry Policies, one of which from the Experimental Institute for Forestry in Arezzo; d) a representative of the Ministry of the Environment and Land Protection; e) a representative of private producers, nominated by the trade associations of the forest nursery-seed sector most representative at national level; f) a representative of the Poplar Culture Testing Institute appointed by the National Poplar Commission.  

5. The members of the Technical Commission remain in office for three years and can be reconfirmed. An alternate is appointed for each of the members referred to in paragraph 4. The secretarial function is performed, without the right to vote, by a manager or an official of the competent structure of the Ministry; in the first meeting, the members of the commission elect the President internally and define an operating regulation.  


Dott. Fulvio Ducci